ASC Awards 2021 Winners: “Mank,” “The Queen’s Gambit,” “The Crown”

Cinematographer Erik Messerschmidt gained the highest prize Sunday on the 35th annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards for his camerawork on “Mank.” TV winners come with Baz Idoine for “The Mandalorian” and Fabian Wagner for “The Crown.”

Messerschmidt beat Phedon Papamichael (“The Trial of the Chicago 7”), Joshua James Richards (“Nomadland”), Newton Thomas Sigel (“Cherry”), and Dariusz Wolski (“Information of the International”) within the characteristic movie class.

“Thank to to David Fincher for growing an atmosphere the place shall we do our easiest paintings, and anticipating it,” Messerschmidt stated.

The once a year awards, performed just about this 12 months, honor the 12 months’s best cinematography in classes spanning movie and TV. The small rite used to be broadcast from the ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood and hosted via TCM’s Ben Mankiewicz, grandson of the titular persona in “Mank.” Winners authorised their awards remotely.

Gregory Kershaw, one of the most Documentary winners for “The Truffle Hunters,” stated he used to be thankful for the popularity.

“We got down to make a documentary that used to be greater than info and knowledge and reached towards that lofty objective of cinema,” Kershaw stated. “To have it known via this crew — the cinematographers, the poets, the magicians who who deliver all of it to lifestyles — it manner the entirety to us.”

Aurélien Marra gained the Highlight Award for his paintings at the queer French drama “Two of Us. The prize honors state of the art paintings on impartial motion pictures.

Edward Lachman offered Sofia Coppola with the Board of Governors Award,  bestowed to non-cinematographers for his or her contributions to cinema. Lachman used to be the DP on Coppoa’s 1999 debut characteristic “The Virgin Suicides.”

“For me, she had a exceptional composure and imaginative and prescient,” Lachman stated. “You discovered some way that allowed myself and the entire inventive departments round you to give a contribution whilst you nonetheless maintained your individual non-public imaginative and prescient. You’ve at all times been ready to enlighten us together with your skill. It kind of feels so easy, enriching us.”

Function Movie

Erik Messerschmidt, ASC for “Mank” (winner)
Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC for “The Trial of the Chicago 7”
Joshua James Richards for “Nomadland”
Newton Thomas Sigel, ASC for “Cherry”
Dariusz Wolski, ASC for “Information of the International”


Katelin Arizmendi for “Swallow”
Aurélien Marra for “Two of Us” (winner)
Andrey Naydenov for “Expensive Comrades!”


Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw for “The Truffle Hunters” (winner)
Viktor Kosakovskiy and Egil Håskjold Larsen for “Gunda”
Gianfranco Rosi for “Notturno”

Movement Image, Restricted Sequence, or Pilot Made for Tv

Martin Ahlgren, ASC for “The Plot Towards The us,” “Phase 6”
Anette Haellmigk for “The Nice,” “The Nice”
Pete Konczal for “Fargo,” “The Birthplace of Civilization”
Steven Meizler for “The Queen’s Gambit,” “Finish Sport” (winner)
Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for “Watchmen,” “This Ordinary Being”

Episode of a One-Hour Tv Sequence – Business

Marshall Adams, ASC for “Higher Name Saul,” “Bagman”
Carlos Catalán for “Killing Eve,” “Conferences Have Biscuits”
François Dagenais, CSC for “Challenge Blue Guide,” “Space 51”
Jon Joffin, ASC for “Motherland: Fortress Salem,” “Up is Down” (winner)
C. Kim Miles, ASC, CSC, MySC for “Challenge Blue Guide,” “Operation Mainbrace”

Episode of a One-Hour Tv Sequence – Non-Business

David Franco for “Perry Mason,” “Bankruptcy 2”
Ken Glassing for “Lucifer,” “It By no means Ends Neatly for the Hen”
Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC, BSC for “The Crown,” “Fairytale”
David Greene, ASC, CSC for “Impulse,” “The Moroi”
M. David Mullen, ASC for “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “It’s Comedy or Cabbage”
Fabian Wagner, ASC, BSC for “The Crown,” “Imbroglio” (winner)

Episode of a Part-Hour Tv Sequence

Ava Berkofsky for “Insecure,” “Lowkey Misplaced”
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for “The Mandalorian,” “Bankruptcy 1: The Mandalorian”
Baz Idoine for “The Mandalorian,” “Bankruptcy 13: The Jedi” (winner)
Matthew Jensen, ASC for “The Mandalorian,” “Bankruptcy 15: The Believer”
Jas Shelton for “Homecoming,” “Large”

Signal Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Source link

Tinggalkan Balasan

Alamat email Anda tidak akan dipublikasikan. Ruas yang wajib ditandai *